Swapnil Bhatia Receives Allan Kuchinsky IWBDA Scholarship

Dr. Swapnil Bhatia will be the 1st recipient of the annual “Allan Kuchinsky International Workshop on Bio-Design Automation Scholarship”.

For more see:

By |July 22nd, 2015|Awards, News|0 Comments

Zachary Chapasko Receives Hariri Award

Zachary Chapasko has been awarded the Rafik B. Hariri Institute for Computing and Computational Science & Engineering Summer Research Award. This award is granted to individuals using data-driven or computational approaches in conducting research.

The Rafik B. Hariri Institute for Computing and Computational Science & Engineering initiates, catalyzes, and propels collaborative, interdisciplinary research and training initiatives for a better society by promoting (a) discovery and innovations through the use of computational and data-driven approaches, and (b) advances in the science of computing inspired by challenges in arts and sciences, engineering, and management disciplines. You can find more information about the Hariri Institute at the following website:

By |June 25th, 2015|Awards, News|0 Comments

Yash Agarwal Receives Joseph Healy Distinguished Fellowship

Yash Agarwal has been awarded a Joseph Healey Distinguished Fellowship for the summer of 2015. This award was made possible through a generous donation from one of our esteemed engineering alumni. This award is identical to the Kenneth R. Lutchen Distinguished Fellowship award in everything but name and was created this year.

Yash will be a member of the inaugural class.

By |June 15th, 2015|Awards, News|0 Comments

Swati Carr Appointed SynBERC Diversity Fellow

Swati Carr has been appointed the SynBERC Diversity Fellow for the 2015-16 academic year.

Read more about diversity in SynBERC here:

By |May 26th, 2015|News|0 Comments

$4.5M NSF CPS Frontier Award to Fund BU-Led Project

The National Science Foundation (NSF) awarded a five-year, $4.5 million Cyber-Physical Systems Program (CPS) Frontier grant to BU researchers Calin Belta and Doug Densmore (along with U Penn’s Vijay Kumar and MIT’s Ron Weiss). The researchers aim to engineer bacterial or mammalian cells to exhibit specified behaviors, and direct a fleet of micro-robots to corral the engineered cells into working together to perform desired tasks.

For more see:

By |May 13th, 2015|Funding, News, Phoenix|0 Comments

Swati Carr Awarded SynBERC SPA Travel Award

The SynBERC Student & Postdoc Association (SPA) announced that Swati Carr was one of eight new travel award winners, each of whom will receive $500 towards attending SEED or the Synthetic Biology GRC.

By |May 13th, 2015|Awards, News|0 Comments

BU’S Biological Design Center Launched

Boston University’s Biological Design Center will bring together interdisciplinary research in all areas of engineered biology including synthetic biology and tissue engineering. The BioDesign Center will be housed in what will be the Center for Integrated Life Sciences and Engineering (CILSE) building.

For more see:

By |May 5th, 2015|Event, News|0 Comments

Prof. Densmore promoted to Associate Professor with tenure in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

By |May 5th, 2015|Awards, Doug-Densmore, News|0 Comments

Prof. Densmore elevated to ACM Senior Member

Prof. Densmore has been recently elevated to a Senior Member of the ACM. The Senior Member Grade recognizes those ACM members with at least 10 years of professional experience and 5 years of continuous Professional Membership who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers. For more see:

By |February 9th, 2015|Awards, Doug-Densmore, News|0 Comments

CIDAR Undergrads Awarded Spring 2015 UROP Funding

The following undergraduate students have received UROP funding to continue research with CIDAR for spring 2015:

Zachary Chapasko, Inna Turshudzhyan

By |January 22nd, 2015|Funding, News|0 Comments